ModuleNotFoundError when running flask

I’m new to coding, python and linux and am having an issue getting igraph to work properly.

I’m trying to develop a web app that utilizes igraph in the backend and am using an Ubuntu command line environment (vs code using Ubuntu 22.04 through WSL).

I am getting this error when trying to run a Flask application:

For some reason the import igraph command isn’t working despite vs code not indicating a problem ahead of runtime.

I originally installed igraph using pip3 install python-igraph.

I’m unsure if this will make sense but prior to using a flask implementation I had been experimenting with igraph in a graph.py file run in the same folder and it was executing without issues. However, I had to use some other version of python in vs code other than the recommended version. Again not sure I can explain it better now and I can’t find the settings.

The best way to debug this would be to check what the import path is in your code right before running import igraph, i.e. do this:

import sys
print(sys.path)
import igraph

Then check the entries in the import path one by one to see if the folder containing igraph/ is in the path or not.

Note that if you use the Flask dev server, it forks your process at startup; the main process becomes responsible for detecting changes in the code of your webapp, while the child process serves the incoming requests. The main process restarts the child process every time you change your code. There is a slight chance that sys.path in your child process (that eventually runs import igraph) is somehow different from sys.path in your main process or in the VS Code environment and that’s why you are getting this import error. Either way, you need to check what’s on sys.path.

I get the output below but don’t see igraph anywhere. NOTE this is run before calling a flask object so I believe I would not yet be dealing with any forking behavior mentioned in the reply.