Unable to find libigraph.so, libigraph.a or igraph.dll files in package

Hi,

I am new to igraph. I am trying to install it in MacOS M1chip using Visual Studio Code. I am unable to find libigraph.so , libigraph.a or igraph.dll files in the package. Could some one please help me in how to locate these files and in installation process. Sorry If I am asking for too much.

You can compile the igraph C library yourself, according to the instructions in the documentation:

https://igraph.org/c/

igraph is also available in MacPorts and Homebrew, which will save you the trouble of compilation. But if you are going to be working with igraph from C, I strongly suggest you compile it yourself, using the specific options you need.

Visual Studio Code is a text editor. It plays no role in installing igraph, and has no bearing on how you would install igraph.

Thank you for the reply.

I followed these steps:

1. Installed cmake
  2. Downloaded the igraph source code.
  3. Launched Cmake, for the label ‘Where is the source code’, I provided the igraph folder (which is extracted from the igraph source code .tar file)
  4. And for ‘Where to build libraries’, I created a new folder named Build in igraph folder, and provided its path.
  5. I clicked on configure and then generate, both went successfully.
  6. Then I tried testing it with igraph_test.c given in tutorial. Which landed me with the question I asked above.

Am I doing it right way or wrong? I am totally confused.

Please follow the instruction to the end. You did not compile the package. See the last step:

https://igraph.org/c/doc/igraph-Installation.html#igraph-Installation-general-build-instructions

I strongly suggest that you use cmake from the command line. Use the GUI only for adjusting configuration. Even for that, ccmake is easier to use than cmake-gui.

I tried to follow your instructions. I am getting the following error. Could you please let me know the reason for this and how to rectify it.