Connecting edges when adding layers to a circular "tripartite" plot

Hi, I’m pretty new to igraph, but have been stuck for a while now with a layout problem. I tried to post my question on stackoverflow, but unfortunately haven’t gotten any answer.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/64609314/igraph-creating-a-circular-layout-with-inner-and-outer-nodes-for-bipartite-netw

I have a bipartite network where 284 “species” nodes are connected to 11 “host” nodes. Around half of the species nodes are specific, i.e. they have only one edge connecting them to a host node. And around half have several edges and are thus “shared” between several host nodes. So in a way I have a tripartite network.

As I wrote in stackoverflow, I want to make a circular layout with the hosts where the specific nodes are outside the circle, and the shared inside the circles. Like this picture:

I’ve added a reproducible example in the stackoverflow question. Here I’ve tried to use layout.circle() kind of like in this example:

However, the most important thing is really just to separate the “specific” nodes to be “outside” the 11 hosts, and the shared nodes to be “inside”.

Since the question was posted I’ve tried to separate my graph into three layers and draw the plots on top of each other.

The layout is getting better, but I can’t seem to understand how to connect the edges between the different plots.

Please say if I should provide some more code (other than what’s found in the stackoverflow question). I hope that someone will be able to help me!