Weighted edges in centr_degree?

Hi there,

I’m calculating centrality measures on a communication network (cellphone calls) using R. In this network, an edge represents a call and I assigned weight to the edges by collapsing and summing multiple calls between the nodes. I recently discovered (newbie here) that using the strength() function is recommended for calculating node degree in a weighted network. (and hoping I understood that correctly :crossed_fingers:)

Now, I have a question regarding the consideration of edge weights in centrality measures such as centr_degree, centr_betw, and cent_clo. After reading the R documentation, it seems that none of these functions have an explicit argument for incorporating edge weights. Should I account for the edge weights (and directionality) when measuring centrality? If so, how?

Now, I have a question regarding the consideration of edge weights in centrality measures such as centr_degree, centr_betw, and cent_clo.

These compute centralization, not centrality. Look at degree(), strength(), betweenness(), closeness() for vertex centralities.

As for centralization: You can use centralize() to compute centralization from an arbitrary set of centrality scores. It’s really just a convenience function, since the computation is simple enough that you can do it in a one-liner: sum(max(scores) - scores) (unnormalized version).

If you mean centralities, this is up to you and depends on your use case. Keep in mind that different functions interpret weights in different ways: e.g. with closeness they represent edge lengths, while with eigenvector centrality they represent the “strength” of connections (equivalent to edge multiplicity).