Sampling a simple path at random

Hello,

I’m using the R package. Is there a way of randomly sampling a simple path between two vertices that does not involve all_simple_paths()? I would like to avoid exhaustive search altogether.

Thank you.

I’m not an expert on random paths, so I could be completely wrong, but I think the answer is no. I can’t find such a function in igraph, and it also seems hard to find a random path without knowing all the paths. When you want a random path, I guess you’d want every path to be returned with the same probability. But I don’t think you can know how probable a path should be before you’ve found all the paths. If you don’t want every path to have the same probability then there’s probably something you can try like try random walks, but I think it will give you skewed results, like paths from A to B being differently distributed than from B to A (not sure! Maybe it works).

What are the demands on the randomness of the paths? Equal probability for each path?

1 Like

I agree with @GroteGnoom, though my way of explaining it hopefully will add something.

In general, if you pose a random selection problem as choosing a random item x from a set of X you must be able to potentially generate the set X, unless you have a way of guaranteeing that your generation of a single item is random with respect to the options X. So, do you have to generate the full set X in this case?