Equations transitivity() and edge_connectivity()

Hi,

I am a sport scientist using igraph (as R-package) heavily for one of my manuscripts. The reviewers of the manuscript want me to include mathematical equations for my calculated network metrics. I have managed to find equations for 7 out of the 9 metrics/functions. Unfortunately I am struggling with 2 of them, namely the functions transitivity() and edge_connectivity(). I was hoping someone would be willing to help me out.

I have read the igraph manual, tried to find the source code of the functions (to see the calculation, but what I can find in R it only refers to C functions) and read the literature that are in the references for the two specific functions. Unfortunately the references do not give an equation either.

For transitivity() in the manual an equation is given for the special case of Barret (and weighted graphs).

weighted C_i = \frac{1}{s_i} \frac{1}{k_i-1} \sum_{j,h} \frac{w_{ij}+w_{ih}}{2 a_{ij} a_{ih} a_{jh}}

I use the default (type = “global”) and therefore was wondering if for me the transitivity is the same equations without the weight factor (W_{ij} + W_{ih} )/2?

Moreover in the description “si is the strength of vertex i, see strength, aij are elements of the adjacency matrix, ki is the vertex degree, wij are the weights.”
I was wondering what the vertex degree is?

For edge_connectivity() I struggle more to find information how to “write it in a equation”. So far I am fairly certain it is an iteration instead of a equation, but I’m not sure how to write this out.

The piece in the manual states “The edge connectivity of a graph is the minimum of the edge connectivity of every (ordered) pair of vertices in the graph. edge_connectivity calculates this quantity if neither the source nor the target arguments are given (ie. they are both NULL).”

Does it start at a random edge, removes it and checks if the graph is connected?