Does igraph accept json format and why are nodes represented as numbers?

Hello, I am very new to igraph and have a few questions.

Does igraph accept a dictionary of lists as input? For example, networkx has convert from dictionary of lists . I have a large json file with 24000 nodes and 52k edges which the value for each key being a list. An example of a key in my dictionary is shown below. Does igraph accept formats like this or will I need to rewrite my entire dictionary?

Example:

"tensor_util": [
    "tf_export.tf_export",
    "tensor_util._generate_isinstance_check",
    "<builtin>.frozenset"
  ],

Update:
I found out that igraph has from_networkx so I tried to use that but now my nodes are represented by numbers instead of text. Is there a way to search for a text since all my nodes are now numbers?

Hello!

python-igraph does not have a direct constructor yet for the dictionary-of-lists representation but it’s an easy one-liner to cast it into a list-of-pairs representation and then you can use Graph.TupleList():

adjlist = {"a": ["b", "c", "d"], "b": ["d"], "e": ["a"]}
pairs = sum(([(source, target) for target in targets] for source, targets in adjlist.items()), [])
g = Graph.TupleList(pairs)
print(g.vs["name"])
print(g.get_edgelist())

now my nodes are represented by numbers instead of text. Is there a way to search for a text since all my nodes are now numbers?

Vertices in an igraph graph always have numeric identifiers from 0 to |V|-1; this is because igraph is rooted in C where it is much easier to work with contiguous ranges of numbers than arbitrary strings. Typically, the string names of the vertices are stored in the name vertex attribute of the graph, which you can retrieve with:

g.vs["name"]

This gives you a list where the i-th element is the name of the i-th node. You can turn this into a lookup table if you need the reverse mapping:

>>> name_to_index = {v: k for k, v in enumerate(g.vs["name"])}
>>> print(name_to_index)