betweeness calculation with directed and weighted graph

Hi all, I am new to network analysis.

I believe I understand that Kate is on the shortest path from Edwina to Anthony, as well as from Edwina to Benedicte, so I think I understand the value of 2.

However, Anthony is indeed on the shortest path between Benedicte and Edwina in both directions (=2), and he is on the shortest path between Kate and Benedicte in both directions (=2). So, I would find the value of four for the number of shortest paths and hence the betweenness. Why then five?

I have tried other packages, and sometimes I get the following values: 4 0 0 0 or 6 0 0 0, 2 0 0 0, in short, I am confused…

Can someone help me understand?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Nancy

Below is the script and the dataset.

# data --------------------------------------------------------------------
(sub=tibble::tribble(
      ~source,     ~target, ~weight,
    "Anthony", "Benedicte",       3,
    "Anthony",    "Edwina",       1,
    "Anthony",      "Kate",       2,
  "Benedicte",   "Anthony",       4,
     "Edwina",      "Kate",       2,
       "Kate",   "Anthony",       1,
       "Kate",    "Edwina",       4
  ))
#> # A tibble: 7 × 3
#>   source    target    weight
#>   <chr>     <chr>      <dbl>
#> 1 Anthony   Benedicte      3
#> 2 Anthony   Edwina         1
#> 3 Anthony   Kate           2
#> 4 Benedicte Anthony        4
#> 5 Edwina    Kate           2
#> 6 Kate      Anthony        1
#> 7 Kate      Edwina         4

(sub_with_numbers=tibble::tribble(
                                                                                ~source, ~target, ~weight,
                                                                                      1,       2,       3,
                                                                                      1,       3,       1,
                                                                                      1,       4,       2,